Make a Wish

20130430-222241.jpg
Today is two weeks since my last chemo treatment. Normally, I would have received treatment today and been miserable for the next several days.

But not anymore.

Last week I received news that my scans came back clean, my cancer indicator mark is very low and that all my blood work is perfectly normal. We have been waiting for this since last July. Couldn’t stop smiling.

Now, we begin a new portion of our life nearly as challenging. Healing physically and mentally. Moving on. Not dwelling on what the next scan may show. Living.

My mother in law has been with us since two days after I went into the hospital in July last year. She leaves in three weeks. While we all really need to get on with our lives, she has done so much for us and that burden will return to me when she leaves. And I am scared. She needs to leave but she has been the greatest help to us.

I don’t know where to go from here just yet. I don’t know how to start over. I have to create some new order to my life. Some focus. I need to remember my purpose and my dreams.

Most importantly I need to remember to live my life to the fullest. I have been given a second chance. So many aren’t. I must make the most of it. I must live.

This entry was posted in cancer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make a Wish

  1. laura g. says:

    wow! such GREAT news!! and i hear ya, girlfriend, about entering the next phase…i got my last chemo on thursday…finally feeling better today…must start to build myself back up physically to go back to work in retail…and mentally…wondering where to start..and if i am up to this…my oncologist said it will be about 6 months for my body to return to ‘normal’…but i’m not sure if i can remember what normal is! Hugs and i am so happy for you! go out and embrace life! the rest will take care of itself!

    • Glad to hear things are moving along for you too! It’s like your better now and just supposed to pick up right where it left off and maybe it can for your family but for us everything looks and feels different doesn’t it?

      Good luck with everything!

  2. michelle7259 says:

    Wonderful news! You are stronger than you think. You will be in the groove in no time.

Leave a Reply

