Knossos Brim

Well, the intention was to have this up yesterday but life gets busy sometimes and I am discovering that even though the cancer is gone, my body just doesn’t have the strength and energy to keep going like it used to. Christmas shopping, grocery shopping, laundry, dishes and dinner was more than I could handle. I still had to help with homework and read with the kids as well. The reading is the best part, though. ¬†Anna is reading an Ivy and Bean book and Warren is reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

After all this, I just needed to lay down. I am pleased that I can do more than I could last year but still so frustrated that I can’t do what I used to be able to do and what I want to be able to do.

Anyway, I completed the brim for Knossos.

Image

It was fairly quick, taking less than an hour to complete. I love the way it looks and love it even more after it is blocked. It loses some of the roll and spreads out a bit so you can see more detail. It will appear loose and I couldn’t help but think each time I knit this brim that it was too big. You can see from the modeled hat that this is not the case. She only has one inch of negative ease too.

Image

I love the texture and uniqueness this brim adds to a rather simple hat. It really is one of my favorite features.

Image

You might also notice that I did the brim in magic loop. I did not have a 16″ needle in size 4 so I had to do this. I tried DPNs when I first started knitting and just wasn’t any good at it. When I discovered circular needles, I jumped right on them and have never looked back. My straight needles now sit in my craft room in a large jar as decoration like a bouquet of knitting needles. I will use a 16″ needle for the body of the hat which I will post about probably not until Monday.

In other news, If all goes well, I should be finishing my Rhinebeck sweater today as well as a colorwork hat for my daughter. The day hasn’t started out well, though. I fell on my way home from the school bus stop and hurt my knee, ankle and back. Hoping it gets better.

If anyone is knitting this hat along with me or is finding this information interesting, I would love to hear about it in the comments.

Happy Knitting!

This entry was posted in cancer, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knossos Brim

Leave a Reply

